PATRICIA Project researchers and advisory group

An Advisory Group comprised of government and non‐government stakeholders supports the project. It draws together a team of academics: in the area of domestic and family violence (Professors Cathy Humphreys, Donna Chung, Patrick O’Leary, Sarah Wendt, Drs Lesley Laing, Fiona Buchanan and Lucy Healey); in the area of child protection and children’s services (Professors Marie Connolly, Aron Shlonsky and Ilan Katz); alongside community sector organisations with expertise in research reviews and research implementation (Dr Michelle Macvean from the Parenting Research Centre (PRC); and a D/FV specialist (Dr Debbie Kirkwood, Domestic Violence Resource Centre Victoria). Collaborating organisations also include peak bodies (DVVic, NTV, WA Women’s Council for Domestic and Family Violence); the Victorian Aboriginal Child Care Agency; Women’s Legal Services NSW and Victoria; and representatives from statutory child protection departments in Victoria, NSW and WA.

Research teams across the states

Researcher contact details
State Role Details
Victoria Chief investigator (Responsible Researcher) Professor Cathy Humphreys, cathy.humphreys@unimelb.edu.au

Professor of Social Work

Department of Social Work, University of Melbourne

Chief investigator Professor Marie Connolly, marie.connolly@unimelb.edu.au

Chair and Head of Social Work

Department of Social Work, University of Melbourne

Research Coordinator Dr Lucy Healey, lhealey@unimelb.edu.au

Senior Research Fellow, Department of Social Work

School of Health Sciences, University of Melbourne

Researcher Dr Debbie Kirkwood, dkirkwood@dvrcv.org.au

Senior Research Officer

Domestic Violence Resource Centre Victoria

Researcher Ms Anna Bornemisza, anna.bornemisza@unimelb.edu.au

Research Assistant, Department of Social Work

School of Health Sciences, University of Melbourne

South Australia Chief investigator Dr Fiona Buchanan, Fiona.buchanan@unisa.edu.au

Lecturer, School of Psychology, Social Work and Social Policy, University of South Australia

Chief investigator Associate Professor Sarah Wendt, Sarah.Wendt@unisa.edu.au

Program Director, Masters of Social Work

School of Psychology, Social Work and Social Policy

University of South Australia

Western Australia Chief investigator Professor Donna Chung, donna.chung@curtin.edu.au

Head of Social Work, School of Occupational Therapy and Social Work
Faculty of Health Sciences, Curtin University

Queensland Chief investigator Professor Patrick O’Leary, p.oleary@griffith.edu.au

Professor of Social Work

School of Human Services and Social Work

Griffith University

Chief investigator Dr Menka Tsantefski, m.tsantefski@griffith.edu.au

Senior Lecturer

School of Human Services and Social Work

Griffith University

Researcher Ms Amy Young, amy.young3@griffithuni.edu.au

Research Assistant

School of Human Services and Social Work

Griffith University

New South Wales Chief investigator Associate Professor Lesley Laing, lesley.laing@sydney.edu.au

Associate Professor, Undergraduate and Pre-service Programs

Faculty of Education and Social Work

University of Sydney

Chief investigator Dr Susan Heward-Bell, susan.hewardbelle@Sydney.edu.au

Lecturer, Social Work & Policy Studies

Faculty of Education and Social Work

University of Sydney

Researcher Ms Cherie Toivonen, cherie.toivonen@sydney.edu.au

Senior Researcher

Faculty of Education and Social Work| and Sydney Law School

University of Sydney