Fathering Challenges Project

News:  Newly released digital stories from young people living with fathers who use violence.

Project overview

Fathering in the context of domestic and family violence (D/FV):

  • knowledge is partial
  • evidence of effectiveness limited

The aim of this project is to improve the parenting experience of children whose fathers have used D/FV.

Including a consortium of NGOs and Governments from three states (Vic, SA & WA) and the Northern Territory across three program areas:

  1. Men’s Behaviour Change (MBC);
  2. Culturally specific programs for Indigenous men who have perpetrated family violence (Indigenous); and
  3. Fathering programs that address abuse (Fathering).

There are three research questions:

  1. How do the programs address the issue of fathering in the context of D/FV within Australia and Internationally? Specifically, what issues are addressed; what practice interventions, and methods are currently being used; and what evidence is there for the success of The Programs.
  2. How and under what circumstances are Fathers Who Use Violence (FWUV) parenting?
  3. What are the key fathering issues that need to be addressed within the programs?

If you’d like to stay informed about this project and upcoming events please visit the newsletter sign-up page.

 

Academic Research Team:

(Please direct all general enquiries to: Dr Kristin Diemer kdiemer@unimelb.edu.au     03 8344 9425)

State Role Details
Victoria Chief investigator Professor Cathy Humphreys Professor of Social Work, University of Melbourne, cathy.humphreys@unimelb.edu.au
Chief investigator Professor Kelsey Hegarty, General Practice and Primary Health Care Academic Centre, Director of Researching Abuse and Violence in Primary Care program, k.hegarty@unimelb.edu.au
Chief investigator Shawana Andrews, Indigenous Health Lecturer, School of Health Sciences, University of Melbourne,  shawanaa@unimelb.edu.au
Researcher Dr Kristin Diemer, Senior Research Fellow, Department of Social Work, School of Health Sciences, University of Melbourne, kdiemer@unimelb.edu.au
Researcher Dr Joanie Smith, Research Assistant, Department of Social Work, School of Health Sciences, University of Melbourne, joanie.smith@monash.edu
Researcher – Aboriginal strand Mr David Gallant, Research Fellow, Department of Social Work, School of Health Sciences, University of Melbourne, david.gallant@unimelb.edu.au
PhD student Ms Katie Lamb, Social Work, School of Health Sciences, University of Melbourne, lambk@student.unimelb.edu.au
Research Assistant Ms Anna Bornemisza, Social Work, School of Health Sciences, University of Melbourne, anna.bornemisza@unimelb.edu.au
South Australia Chief investigator Associate Professor Leah Bromfield, Deputy Director, Australian Centre for Child Protection; Hawke Research Institute, University of South Australia, Leah.Bromfield@unisa.edu.au
Researcher Stewart McDougall, Australian Centre for Child Protection, University of South Australia, Stewart.McDougall@unisa.edu.au
Western Australia  Chief investigator Professor Donna Chung, Head of Social Work, School of Occupational Therapy and Social Work Faculty of Health Sciences, Curtin University  donna.chung@curtin.edu.au
Researcher Dr Alan Campbell, Research Fellow, Social Work, School of Occupational Therapy and Social Work Faculty of Health Sciences, Curtin University  alan.campbell@curtin.edu.au
Research Assistant Simi Chugani, Social Work, School of Occupational Therapy and Social Work, Faculty of Health Sciences, Curtin University, simi.chugani@curtin.edu.au
International Partner investigator Professor Nicky Stanley: School of Social Work, University of Central Lancashire
Advertisements

One thought on “Fathering Challenges Project

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s